top of page

SFINCS Modeling ($700)

Overland Flood Modeling due to Compound Events

  • Starts Apr 17
  • 700 US dollars
  • MS Teams

Available spots


Service Description

Compound flooding during extreme events can result in tremendous amounts of property damage and loss of life. Early warning systems and multi-hazard risk analysis can reduce these impacts. However, traditional approaches either do not involve relevant physics or are too computationally expensive to do so for large stretches of coastline. SFINCS (Super-Fast Inundation of CoastS) is a new reduced-complexity engine recently developed by Deltares Netherlands that is capable of simulating compound flooding, including a high computational efficiency balanced with good accuracy. Who should participate This course is aimed at project engineers, researchers, PhD students with a basic background in programming (e.g. Matlab / Python / Fortran) and modeling. Online format In preparation of the training, we’ll send you all the material and will ask you to install the stand-alone SFINCS and Matlab Runtime Compiler executables on your own machine. While attending the training, it will be essential that you have a sufficiently fast internet connection to support a video call, as well as a headset. The use of Windows is required for the SFINCS course. Online course dates Session 1: April 17, 2022, 09:00 PDT (12:00 EDT) until 13:00 PDT (16:00 EDT) Session 2: April 19, 2022, 09:00 PDT (12:00 EDT) until 13:00 PDT (16:00 EDT) Instructors: Tim Leijnse


Upcoming Sessions


Contact Details

301-503-8131

mandy.getz@deltares-usa.us

8601 Georgia Avenue #508, Silver Spring, MD 20910

bottom of page